This is my experience with Amino Apps. Maybe you already have one or more communities going on? Or maybe you’re thinking of creating your own? If so, then read on…if not then no hard feelings! Just go ahead and delete the app from your phone or whatever device you’re using – there’s no need to feel obligated.

What Are Amino Apps?

Amino Apps is a company that allows its users to create their own private communities – known as “communities” within the app. These are essentially massive groups of people who share similar interests. Once you join a community, you have access to its forum and can engage with other members on discussions about your personal interests. You also have the ability to chat with others in real-time (a feature called channels), play games, watch videos, and so much more!

While all this sounds pretty amazing there are some serious issues I encountered when using the app for over a year now. If these things don’t bother you, then by all means please do use the app and make your own communities! However if you’re like me and don’t want to deal with these things happening in your community, then I recommend not using this app at all.

As soon as I started creating my first community using the app (this is also when I joined the company back in 2017), it seemed too good to be true. There were several other members who quickly jumped on board my community – some adding well over 1,000 people within a few days! It inspired me to continue developing my community into something bigger than myself.

While there are plenty of great features about this app one of its biggest downfalls has been its community members. There are plenty of them who use this app with poor intentions – and unfortunately I fell victim to one of these people. It’s safe to say that, without a doubt, I was taken advantage of in every way imaginable by a member who scammed me for my hard-earned money while using the Amino Apps platform. This resulted in me feeling disappointed and angry at the company itself – not only because they allowed it to happen but also because I was left with no choice but to let go of all my hard work creating my own community!

I put an incredible amount of time into developing my first (and only) community on Amino Apps. I created over 200 channels, shared dozens of posts, and made hundreds of comments on discussions. Most importantly though, I was building an active community group with many members who were interested in the same content as me.

Unfortunately all that hard work didn’t last long…mostly because a certain member decided to scam me out of $30 bucks! However my biggest frustration wasn’t knowing that this person scammed me but rather how they did it and how Amino Apps didn’t do anything about it! More specifically:

  1. The person was able to use another person’s credit card details without their consent or knowledge to buy an amino. This is against the company’s Terms of Service (I know this because I read the terms myself).

  2. Because the person who scammed me also bought a ‘supporter’ for my community, Amino Apps considered them as an active member. This meant that all the victim’s of the scam were now counted as members of my community (even though they didn’t want to be part of it).

  3. Even after being reported by several other members within my community claiming this person was trying to scam them too, Amino Apps never removed or banned the culprit from using their service. If you head on over to their website and take a look at their Terms of Services, under Section 8 “Illegal Activities”, subsection d “Threats and Fraud” you’ll find the following information:

Threats and Fraud – You may not… defraud or attempt to defraud Amino Apps, its users, third-party service providers or any other individual or entity, via email fraud (such as “phishing”), credit card fraud, identity theft, debit/credit card chargeback fraud (including making fake refunds) or other forms of financial fraud;

Clearly this is against their very own terms – but yet they did NOTHING about it! This is just unacceptable in my opinion…especially when people are constantly reporting the person for doing the same thing over and over again!! The entire experience was so disheartening that I eventually decided.

I joined a community that allowed me to leave the group with my profile intact. When I went back to that same community one month later, everything was still there including the option for exiting the group. Additionally, according to some friends of mine, it’s possible that any aminos you’re part of would be deleted if you delete your account (i.e., across all communities).

To leave a Community, select (Community Settings), and then select [Leave Community].To report inappropriate Community names, images, or descriptions, press the OPTIONS button, and then select [Report].

You are permitted to swear in Public Chats as long as the Chat Rules permits it. Excessive swearing and Blog swearing is not allowed due to younger viewers joining the community.

Amino is a social media application developed by Narvii, Inc. It was originally created by Yin Wang and Ben Anderson in 2014. Amino was acquired by MediaLab in 2021, and the founders are no longer associated with it.

To delete your account, go to the Settings → Account settings and choose Delete account as part of the menu. Enter a password on the next screen and then click delete to confirm deletion. After you send in this information by clicking “Delete”, we’ll need 7 days before we can start new registration session with same email address or phone number used previously (wait period included). Please keep in mind that all data will be permanently deleted after 7 days, once confirmed.